Skip to content

From the Little Apple to Big Ben

June 26, 2011

Our Airport Reunion: Joyce is excited, but Claire and Emily are sad about their luggage

‘ello!  We’re officially reporting from LONDON! Here’s a breakdown of what’s happened in the past 72-ish hours.

Joyce: I left O-town for L-town after I went on a walk with my parents and Layla for the last time, said a tearful farewell to my dog-ter, and ate my last bowl of (American) Chipotle. Then I spent the next few hours on a hellish voyage to England. I think I’m allergic to planes. Planes= sneezing fits and zits. But it was all worth it when I finally looked out my window and saw ENGLAND(!!): home of Shakespeare, Jane Austen, and JK Rowling. Maybe under this hard, blunt exterior, I’m actually a romantic at heart. I started tearing up when I realized I was in the land of the world’s best romances: Romeo and Juliet, Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester, and Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy. ❤ On arrival, I had a super exciting reunion with Claire and Emily (but not really thanks to my super janky luggage trolley which I ran into about 6 walls…) After MUCH confusion concerning lost baggage, mixed up terminals, and a late bus, we finally met all of our fellow study abroad-ers who are super cute and super sweet. We’ve already seen so much including Trafalgar Square, Picadilly Circus, Buckingham Palace, Big Ben, the Houses of Parliament, the Tower of London, and even took a ride on the London Eye! Now that we’re all settled into our “halls of residence” and loving our new life in London!!

Our first pub experience!

Emily: I guess you could say our trip across the pond was a little less than ideal. 

 The evening before I flew out Claire and I made a completely necessary trip to Chipotle for our Last Supper.  My last night in America was spent in Manhattan with my roommates and it was glorious.  The next day was slightly different.  Between Claire and me we had a broken zipper, a dysfunctional suitcase handle and a temporarily lost phone from the time we walked out the door and to the car.

 Our flight to Chicago was fine.  Once we landed, however, finding Terminal 5 was pretty confusing.  We had to check into Virgin Atlantic in the International Terminal and go through all that security nonsense again.  Although the flight to London was 8 hours, it really didn’t feel like it.  Maybe it was the fact that as soon as we walked onto the plane it felt like a party?  The seats were red, they were playing popular music over the speakers and everyone just seemed happy to go to London.  Despite what everyone says about airplane food, it was delicious and they even gave us coffee, toothbrushes and socks.

 There is a lot of boring stuff after that I’m sure you don’t really care about.  Virgin Atlantic lost Claire’s and my luggage.  Awesome right?  Of all the times we could lose our luggage it would be in Europe. So, the only reasonable solution would be to drink away our sorrows.  Which is what we did (but not really) at the Sherlock Holmes Pub near our hotel.  Two days later we finally have our clothes back.  Of course they delivered it to the hotel instead of our dorms, which made for an exciting tube and taxi (our first of both) adventure with Claire and Joyce. I’m excited to be clean tomorrow.

Our new London boyfrand? I think yes!

 I’ve done A LOT of tourist things the past few days, but as much as I enjoyed those, I’m excited to do things on my own and not with a group.  I want to see things on my own time and be able to enjoy things and pretend that I’m a local.

Claire: Ditto. (Claire has no original thoughts whatsoever. Sorry guys. -Joyce)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

