Skip to content

Heartbreak in London

June 28, 2011

I experienced the break up of the century today. But before I make you all depressed by my heartache, let me begin with some happier stories (I wrote these last night when I was in a good mood. You will notice the change of tone soon.)

Pre- heartbreak:

Fish and Chips and Girlz

The best part of a meal? The conversation! We’ve been enjoying our fellow study abroad-ers’ company so much! Shout out to Lauren Z, Lauren S, Emily J, Megan T, and crazy Bailey A! We had the best dinner and many of their first taste of London Fish and Chips last night at a pub called The Crown. The night was unforgettable; the food was delcious, but the conversation, priceless. Our dinner ranged from Bailey’s fishing story involving a stunned, exposed fish told from the fish’s pov to Lauren S cutting spilled sugar like it was cocaine. Our fish and chips adventure ended by asking the disgruntled waitress to take our picture outside in front of the sign. Her annoyance is evident in the pictures she took.

And tonight for dinner, we had Pizza Express, London’s most popular pizza chain. It was DELICIOUS. While we have crappy Pizza Hut in America, they have a wonderfully classy and elegant establishment that serves more than average food for a very decent price. We started the meal with their “famous dough balls”

NOM

served with this amazing garlic butter. When they tried to take away the butter with our empty dish, we asked to keep it so we could dip our crust in it later. They gave us a knowing, bemused smile; we are crazy American’s obsessed with butter after all.  When our pizza came– and in Claire’s

Mouth-gasm

case, her pesto chicken pasta– we were extremely satisfied. Pizza Hut ain’t got nothin’ on Pizza Express. Finally, we ordered gelato and Bailey’s lattes for dessert. One word: NOM.

Post Hearbreak:

And now to the gut-wrenching, tears-inducing, cringe-worthy story of the shattering of what little heart I had to begin with. As many of you know, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part II is coming out on July 15. I have had a countdown going for this EPIC event since the last movie came out. Part of why I chose to come to London was to be able to go to the midnight premiere in the home of HP. But it was not to be. Damn the European method of telling time– 12:00 here DOES NOT mean midnight.

Pre Break Up: We were so happy together then....

Alas, this dumb Amurrican forgot where she was and bought all the tickets (9 total for all of us study abroad-ers!!) for the noon showing on the 15th. All I can say about the successive moments after I realized my horrendous mistake is that it felt like the worst break up of my life. After all, I was being dumped by not just 1 guy but dozens: Harry, Ron, Neville, Draco, Fred, George, and many, many more–yes, that even includes Voldemort and a couple girls: Hermione, Ginny, Luna…. Not only did I feel like I was about to throw up, I definitely shed a few tears for my loss. Never will I be able to say that I went to the last midnight premiere of Harry Potter. Never will I feel that sense of accomplishment. Never will I be able to happily look back at my time in London and feel completely content with my experience. Even as I write this post, I can feel a hollowness in my heart and an emptiness in my soul. I believe this is what a Dementor’s kiss must feel like. My only question now is: where is my Patronus?!?! (which btw comes in the form of a german shepherd…named Layla Bear).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janie permalink
    June 28, 2011 8:43 pm

    Wow…all I can say is:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.

    That’s all.

Leave a Reply

